How do you run the program

Linux support forum for Eschalon: Book I
jbumgar
Pledge

How do you run the program

Post by jbumgar »

Ok I'm a newbie. I finally figured out how to extract the game. So I go to the home folder go into the eschalon 1 folder so now what do I do I do. This is my first linux game and I'm definitly not having a good time. Such a hassle.
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin

Re: How do you run the program

Post by BasiliskWrangler »

Click the icon that says "eschalon_book_1".
See my ramblings and keep up with the latest news on Twitter & Facebook.
jbumgar
Pledge

Post by jbumgar »

Did that and it does nothing.
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin

Post by BasiliskWrangler »

What version of Linux are you running? We work exclusively with Ubuntu (specifically 10.04 LTS) and can only ensure that the game runs flawlessly on that distro.

I admit that I am not the most knowledgeable Linux person here, so if you can post more info about your computer and Linux version, there may be someone else here that can better help you.
See my ramblings and keep up with the latest news on Twitter & Facebook.
ManusDei
Council Member

Post by ManusDei »

Can you open a shell, and run the game through the command-line ?

Code: Select all

#cd /wherever/the/game/is
#./eschalon_book_1
And if the game doesn't start, can you copy/paste whatever is displayed in shell (providing eschalon_book_1 is the binary name)?
SpottedShroom
Captain Magnate
Captain Magnate

Post by SpottedShroom »

You may also need to invoke Book I with the "padsp" audio wrapper program for sound to function correctly:

$ padsp ./eschalon_book_1
skeletons
Pledge

Post by skeletons »

I have this very same issue.

I have an Asus G51jx laptop running ubuntu 10.04

when I tried opening it via terminal I got this message

./eschalon_book_1: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

but I know that it is in that directory
ManusDei
Council Member