Engine and graphics

Here's where all things related to Book II are being discussed!
Lamoot
Pledge

Engine and graphics

Post by Lamoot »

Hello,

It's my first time posting here, I've been following this project here and there and kudos to you, BasiliskWrangler, for persevering and pulling this through. Especially as a more or less single man effort.

But there is another reason I am posting here. I am involved in an open-source, 2d isometric RPG project (in very early stages of development) and I am making some research how other similar projects handle graphics. Eschalon Book: I & II have rather nice visuals and are a good reference to the quality of graphics we'd like to achieve. However, my questions are not so much "how you achieved the look" but more "how does the engine handle graphics". I'm especially interested in the following:
  • How does the engine handle different ground types and transitions between them? Do you have a complete set of all possible transitional tiles between two ground types, or do you use some more advanced methods like Texture splatting? (if they can even be adapted to 2d that is)
  • Would it be possible to post a picture of a single tile from Eschalon - an image can tell more than a thousand words.
  • How does the engine handle character sprites. The weapons are the only equipment that show on the character sprite. Do you use a new sprite altogether for this, or is the weapon a separate sprite attached to the main character sprite.
  • Do you know of any useful methods how 2d engines handle graphics that are worth mentioning?
Hopefully, it's not too much work to answer these questions.

Regards,
Lamoot
Kreador Freeaxe
Major General
Major General

Re: Engine and graphics

Post by Kreador Freeaxe »