Game design advice/guidance

Movies, politics, the inevitable collapse of our universe... whatever we're talking about, you're welcome to join the conversation!
Scales
Initiate

Game design advice/guidance

Post by Scales »

I was wondering what advice/guidance that the Basilisk Wrangler might have for people interested in creating their own game. I realize this is sort of a pie-in-the-sky kind of dream for a lot of us, but at the same time I would be keenly interested in any kind of information he might want to dispense. As for myself, I studied programming in school and so have some background in the field. Through osmosis I have picked up on the basic idea that a lot of games are created using a game engine or some such thing. Although I have a vague idea of the process, I would be really interested in any kind of specific info about how one might go about orienting oneself in this field. I'd be really interested to hear how the Wrangler and the people at Basilisk Games went from having a dream to making it a reality? I realize for people doing this work for a living that likely it probably all seems completely obvious, or at least, the knowledge that seems so foggy for a lot of us is just something you take for granted (I work with enough techies to know that it is rare for IT people to stop and remember that other people sometimes just don't know what they know, myself included...) You guys present such an approachable aspect to the community here in the forums that I thought I'd go ahead and bring this up. So, generally or specifically: how did you grow your knowledge and get to the point where you were able to create your own game? Or, less generally and less specifically: how does one go from being a complete noob at game design to becoming a first lvl game designer 1AB?

Salutations,
Scales
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin

Re: Game design advice/guidance

Post by BasiliskWrangler »