Page 1 of 1

Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 24th, 2010, 11:31 am
by Rowanas
The windows forum has one, why don't we?

I'll start off:

Just reposting this information from the general thread:

Becka has the default male voice instead of the female one that (I suppose) she is meant to have.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 24th, 2010, 11:38 am
by IJBall
Rowanas wrote:The windows forum has one, why don't we?

I'll start off:

Just reposting this information from the general thread:

Becka has the default male voice instead of the female one that (I suppose) she is meant to have.
As does Hunter. :)

Well, the biggest "Mac only" bug that I've come across so far is that the Disarm Traps "movie" plays at least 3 times slower than the other OS's versions, and the Pick Locks "movie" plays about twice as slow.

(Already reported in the Windows Support forum thread, but it's good to reiterate this 'bug' as it's irritating, and I'm sure other Mac users are seeing it too...)

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 24th, 2010, 11:47 am
by Rowanas
Indeed. I mentioned it in the "traps are boring" thread I foolishly created. It's so dull disarming traps, but I don't mind the pick locks animation.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 30th, 2010, 5:58 am
by Rowanas
]I was going through Lorewitch, stealing all the chest goodies. to do so, I had to use demon Oil to smash open the chests so that I could take out the wall torches and thus not be spotted while looting.

The result follows.
Torch error1.tif
Torch error1.tif (111.37 KiB) Viewed 7351 times
It seems a bit strange, but I guess when the game stopped providing light from the Demon Oil, it also stopped providing the light from the torch.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 30th, 2010, 5:05 pm
by IJBall
Rowanas wrote:The result follows.
The .tiff image isn't showing up on my browser - can you change the attachment to a .jpg?...

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 30th, 2010, 7:01 pm
by Rowanas
oh, yeah, sure.

EDIT: Um... no. I changed it to jpg, but when I upload it, the forum tells me that tif is expected, so it won't let me put the version with a jpg extension in. Sorry.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: July 30th, 2010, 9:18 pm
by IJBall
Rowanas wrote:oh, yeah, sure.

EDIT: Um... no. I changed it to jpg, but when I upload it, the forum tells me that tif is expected, so it won't let me put the version with a jpg extension in. Sorry.
That's really weird - I attach .jpg's to this forum all the time.

Maybe you need to delete the original .tiff, and then try and upload the .jpg version?...

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: August 1st, 2010, 2:17 pm
by Rowanas
Did that. Didn't work apparently. are you sure you've given it enough time, it takes a few seconds if you're on the slow train to Interneton.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: August 1st, 2010, 3:09 pm
by IJBall
Rowanas wrote:...are you sure you've given it enough time, it takes a few seconds if you're on the slow train to Interneton.
Nope - the .tiff just ain't loading, at least not in Firefox (haven't tried another browser yet...). And I'm on a pretty 'fast' connection...

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: August 1st, 2010, 6:02 pm
by SpottedShroom
IJBall wrote:
Rowanas wrote:...are you sure you've given it enough time, it takes a few seconds if you're on the slow train to Interneton.
Nope - the .tiff just ain't loading, at least not in Firefox (haven't tried another browser yet...). And I'm on a pretty 'fast' connection...
Firefox doesn't support rendering TIFF files - of the major browsers, only Safari does. I suppose that's not a huge surprise since TIFF was always a pretty Mac-centric format.

There's really no reason to use TIFF these days. PNG is also lossless and produces smaller files for the same content. Modern computers are fast enough that the CPU time to decompress PNG is trivial.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 9:25 am
by MyGameCompany
I run the game in windowed mode, and I just noticed the Mac title bar says "book_2". It should probably say something more readable and less programmerish.

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: November 3rd, 2010, 8:24 pm
by HALgamer
I am disappointed with 1.05. I have used all the explosive barrels I've found, so I can't get into the new area without restarting a new game from the beginning. Why can't you have thrown in a couple new barrels in the cave? I'd been looking forward to this since it was announced. :cry:

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: November 4th, 2010, 1:35 pm
by IJBall
Rowanas wrote:I was going through Lorewitch, stealing all the chest goodies. to do so, I had to use demon Oil to smash open the chests so that I could take out the wall torches and thus not be spotted while looting.

The result follows.
{Torch error1.tif}

It seems a bit strange, but I guess when the game stopped providing light from the Demon Oil, it also stopped providing the light from the torch.
So I finally loaded this up on Safari just to take a look at it.

Here's the .jpg version for those who can't see the .tiff version:
Torch_error1.jpg
Torch_error1.jpg (55.48 KiB) Viewed 7088 times
Well, that is odd! I guess somehow the engine turned "off" the "illumination" from the torch without shutting off the torch itself.

Anyone know if BW was able to fix this glitch in v1.05?...

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: November 5th, 2010, 1:48 pm
by SpottedShroom
...or use xolotl's editor to give yourself another one.

Also, can't Fireball be used to destroy some objects similar to how powder kegs do?

Re: Version 1.05 fixes and bugs

Posted: November 5th, 2010, 9:10 pm
by Randomizer
Fireball can be used to destroy objects like that annoying door down at the bottom of Hammerlorne mines.