What's happened to the 'P'?

Linux support forums for Eschalon: Book II
Post Reply
User avatar
Sslaxx
Council Member
Posts: 169
Joined: April 28th, 2008, 3:53 pm
Location: Malvern, UK
Contact:

What's happened to the 'P'?

Post by Sslaxx » May 26th, 2010, 8:06 am

Can't reproduce this bug under a window, and I don't know how to take screenshots full-screen (is this possible?), but I've been finding 'P' replaced with a block instead.
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore.

User avatar
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin
Posts: 3805
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 10:31 am
Location: The Grid
Contact:

Re: What's happened to the 'P'?

Post by BasiliskWrangler » May 26th, 2010, 8:13 am

Ironically, pressing "p" will take a screenshot.

I've seen this anomaly on a few other machines. I've seen it go away after a reboot. I'll continue to look into it.
See my ramblings and keep up with the latest news on Twitter & Facebook.

sgrex
Initiate
Posts: 9
Joined: May 17th, 2010, 6:22 pm

Re: What's happened to the 'P'?

Post by sgrex » May 26th, 2010, 8:57 am

I've seen that on the windows version as well, so it's not platform-specific, but closing and restarting the game helped in my case, rebooting wasn't necessary.

User avatar
sirdilznik
Officer [Gold Rank]
Officer [Gold Rank]
Posts: 439
Joined: April 15th, 2010, 5:40 am

Re: What's happened to the 'P'?

Post by sirdilznik » May 26th, 2010, 2:31 pm

I've also have noticed this. It's only capital P, not lower case:

Image

Fedora 13 x86_64
nVidia GTX260 216 core
nvidia drivers 195.36.24

I'll check to see if a game restart does the trick...

Edit: Yep, restarting the game fixed the issue.
Will Pay For Cloth Map

User avatar
xolotl
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 776
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 1:54 pm

Re: What's happened to the 'P'?

Post by xolotl » August 25th, 2010, 3:31 pm

Been meaning to pop in here to mention that I've seen this occasionally, too. A quit/restart has always fixed it for me, and there doesn't seem to be much pattern to it (I could be playing the game, quit, restart to find the "P" problem, and then quit/restart once more to clear it up, etc.)

Quite odd. I wonder if it has anything to do with the renderer? Since I'm on Linux I'm obviously using OpenGL, but I wonder what the Windows folks who've seen this are using.

Not a big deal, of course, given the simplicity of the workaround.

User avatar
ManusDei
Council Member
Posts: 190
Joined: May 9th, 2010, 3:41 am

Re: What's happened to the 'P'?

Post by ManusDei » August 26th, 2010, 4:42 am

Happens only with OpenGL, we talked about it when BookII first came out.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests