LCD-TV screen size issues

Windows support forum for Eschalon: Book III
Post Reply
User avatar
Leezar
Marshall
Posts: 103
Joined: September 7th, 2013, 3:14 am

LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by Leezar » February 24th, 2014, 5:37 am

Hi all,

My LCD-TV insists on not displaying E3 in the entire TV-screen. I do not say "fullscreen", because it is fullscreen and not windowed, but the full screen have like 6 inches black edges. To add insult to injury, if I press the windows-tabber thingy and change to desktop then back to Eschalon, for one or two seconds Eschalon fills the entire screen, properly scaled (looks fine), but then it just reverts to its mini-size. I have tried everything the manual suggests and a lot of things the manual do not suggest, but no. Eschalon is extremely stubborn. For now, I have to sit on the floor in front of the TV, like a child getting his/her daily dose of Teletubbies brainwash due to parental neglect. Plz help.

I am using a VGA cable and not a HDMI, if this makes any difference.
Roughly at the same time I penetrate your betrothed, you will be penetrated by this sharpened pole

raverdave2k
Senior Council Member
Posts: 224
Joined: January 8th, 2012, 6:06 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by raverdave2k » February 24th, 2014, 9:25 am

Is showing black fours all around just down the left and right sides?

Eschalon runs at a 4:3 resolution so if you are using a widescreen monitor it should have black bars to maintain the correct aspect ration when running in full screen.

If you don't want this and would prefer it is stretched to the full screen then look through your graphics card settings or monitor menus for options such as maintain or force aspect ratio.
My modifications for Eschalon Book I: RaverDave's Book I Mod
My modifications for Eschalon Book II: Port Kuudad Tower - Now Open, Treasure Of The Orakur

All previous versions avaliable here

User avatar
Leezar
Marshall
Posts: 103
Joined: September 7th, 2013, 3:14 am

Re: LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by Leezar » February 24th, 2014, 12:34 pm

raverdave2k wrote:Is showing black fours all around just down the left and right sides?
All around!
raverdave2k wrote:If you don't want this and would prefer it is stretched to the full screen then look through your graphics card settings or monitor menus for options such as maintain or force aspect ratio.
Done that, didnt work :(
Roughly at the same time I penetrate your betrothed, you will be penetrated by this sharpened pole

mbrowne
Steward
Posts: 66
Joined: January 30th, 2014, 7:01 pm

Re: LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by mbrowne » February 24th, 2014, 2:27 pm

If your video card is sending full screen, it's your TV setting that determines how it is displayed.

ikbenrichard
Initiate
Posts: 12
Joined: February 19th, 2014, 12:52 pm

Re: LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by ikbenrichard » March 15th, 2014, 2:57 am

Any one know an other way to change the resolution settings? I get a stretched screen and it is some trouble to get it full screen in the right ratio. (1920*1080).

User avatar
SpottedShroom
Captain Magnate
Captain Magnate
Posts: 1371
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Re: LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by SpottedShroom » March 16th, 2014, 12:41 pm

ikbenrichard wrote:Any one know an other way to change the resolution settings? I get a stretched screen and it is some trouble to get it full screen in the right ratio. (1920*1080).
Due to limitations of the engine, the game's resolution is fixed. You'll have to work around it by changing your display's resolution or scaling the game up some other way.

ikbenrichard
Initiate
Posts: 12
Joined: February 19th, 2014, 12:52 pm

Re: LCD-TV screen size issues

Post by ikbenrichard » March 19th, 2014, 12:25 pm

SpottedShroom wrote:
ikbenrichard wrote:Any one know an other way to change the resolution settings? I get a stretched screen and it is some trouble to get it full screen in the right ratio. (1920*1080).
Due to limitations of the engine, the game's resolution is fixed. You'll have to work around it by changing your display's resolution or scaling the game up some other way.
That "other way" is the thing i would like to know. Because doing it via my monitor is a far from ideal.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests