Quicksave Error

Windows support forum for Eschalon: Book I
Post Reply
minhvipkk
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: September 4th, 2017, 11:33 am

Quicksave Error

Post by minhvipkk » September 4th, 2017, 11:41 am

I recently got the GOG version of this game. I played this game for several hours but I only used quicksaves and not manual saves. One time, my computer got a blackout while I was playing the game, when I opened the game again, the quicksave I use has no name on it and when I clicked it, it immediately close the game. Does anyone know this error? Please help me. (Sorry for my bad English) :(

User avatar
SpottedShroom
Captain Magnate
Captain Magnate
Posts: 1358
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by SpottedShroom » September 4th, 2017, 11:26 pm

It sounds like you lost data because of the power failure. If you want to post your save directory, though, I'll see if I can do anything to make it work. I'm not sure where the saved games go in the GOG version - try searching your computer for the eschalon.cfg file. Then zip up that directory, upload it to a file sharing site, and post the link here.

minhvipkk
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: September 4th, 2017, 11:33 am

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by minhvipkk » September 5th, 2017, 6:41 am

SpottedShroom wrote:
September 4th, 2017, 11:26 pm
It sounds like you lost data because of the power failure. If you want to post your save directory, though, I'll see if I can do anything to make it work. I'm not sure where the saved games go in the GOG version - try searching your computer for the eschalon.cfg file. Then zip up that directory, upload it to a file sharing site, and post the link here.
SpottedShroom, thanks for your reply. This is my entire savegame folder, it was located in C:\Users\Administrator\My Documents. I hope you could fix my savegame soon, thanks a lot.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/dcrf2t5y ... 0Games.rar

User avatar
SpottedShroom
Captain Magnate
Captain Magnate
Posts: 1358
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by SpottedShroom » September 5th, 2017, 4:10 pm

Bad news, I'm afraid - all of the files in your saved game are full of zeroes, and no data. I'm pretty sure I remember seeing this same symptom once in the past, but certainly it's a rare bug. Sorry I can't recover anything for you.

minhvipkk
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: September 4th, 2017, 11:33 am

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by minhvipkk » September 11th, 2017, 11:22 am

SpottedShroom wrote:
September 5th, 2017, 4:10 pm
Bad news, I'm afraid - all of the files in your saved game are full of zeroes, and no data. I'm pretty sure I remember seeing this same symptom once in the past, but certainly it's a rare bug. Sorry I can't recover anything for you.
Hello again, I got an error... again, this time it' not related to my savegame.
I play the game from the beginning, I've learned my lesson and make a mannual save this time, everything seems normal enough...
But here's the problem, in the game I explored everything in Shadowmirk Tower before the main quest (I opened the front gate as well), and when it tells me to go to Shadowmirk Tower again for the quest, I just can't get in anymore. When I go through the door (front and back) it has loading screen but it keeps loading forever. I tried again many times but no use. Can you help me out this time? Again, here's the savegame if you need it. (I'm so unlucky)
https://www.mediafire.com/file/dcrf2t5y ... 0Games.rar

User avatar
SpottedShroom
Captain Magnate
Captain Magnate
Posts: 1358
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by SpottedShroom » September 11th, 2017, 2:42 pm

The shadowmirk_l1.ent file in your saved game is corrupted. If you remove it, you should be able to load your game with no negative side effects.

minhvipkk
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: September 4th, 2017, 11:33 am

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by minhvipkk » September 11th, 2017, 7:00 pm

SpottedShroom wrote:
September 11th, 2017, 2:42 pm
The shadowmirk_l1.ent file in your saved game is corrupted. If you remove it, you should be able to load your game with no negative side effects.
Before your reply, I continue my game and found that I can't go to Northern Crakamir as well (with the same error). Do I have to remove a specific file of that map as well and what file is it?

User avatar
SpottedShroom
Captain Magnate
Captain Magnate
Posts: 1358
Joined: June 4th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by SpottedShroom » September 12th, 2017, 5:23 pm

You are having bad luck! It looks like the following maps are affected:

42.ent Northern Crakamir
44.ent Western Salted Coast
45.ent Eastern Salted Coast
darkford.ent Darkford
grimmhold.ent Grimmhold
grimmhold_maint.map Grimmhold Maintenance Level
shadowmirk_l1.ent Shadowmirk Level 1
shadowmirk_l2.ent Shadowmirk Level 2

Removing these files will allow you to re-enter those maps, but will remove any NPCs/monsters remaining there. If you want, you can remove the matching .map file as well, in which case the map will be reset next time you enter it as though you've never been there before.

minhvipkk
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: September 4th, 2017, 11:33 am

Re: Quicksave Error

Post by minhvipkk » September 13th, 2017, 1:47 am

SpottedShroom wrote:
September 12th, 2017, 5:23 pm
You are having bad luck! It looks like the following maps are affected:

42.ent Northern Crakamir
44.ent Western Salted Coast
45.ent Eastern Salted Coast
darkford.ent Darkford
grimmhold.ent Grimmhold
grimmhold_maint.map Grimmhold Maintenance Level
shadowmirk_l1.ent Shadowmirk Level 1
shadowmirk_l2.ent Shadowmirk Level 2

Removing these files will allow you to re-enter those maps, but will remove any NPCs/monsters remaining there. If you want, you can remove the matching .map file as well, in which case the map will be reset next time you enter it as though you've never been there before.
Thanks for your help, but I think I'm giving up now. Looks like I will watch the end of this game and move on to playing Book 2. :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests