Fullscreen with black bars?

Windows support forum for Eschalon: Book I
Post Reply
Morgan Terror
Steward
Posts: 65
Joined: August 12th, 2012, 6:13 am

Fullscreen with black bars?

Post by Morgan Terror » August 7th, 2013, 4:18 am

I've got no problems about the low resolution myself, but the fullscreen mode is mucking around with the game's aspect ratio. It's stretched. Can't i just have it with a black bar on each side somehow, or just enlarge the windowed mode? Regular windowed mode is just too tiny on my screen.

User avatar
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin
Posts: 3794
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 10:31 am
Location: The Grid
Contact:

Re: Fullscreen with black bars?

Post by BasiliskWrangler » August 7th, 2013, 4:39 am

Set your display's aspect ratio preference.
nvidia_display_properties.png
nvidia_display_properties.png (2.08 MiB) Viewed 2703 times
aspect_ATI.png
aspect_ATI.png (120.32 KiB) Viewed 2703 times
See my ramblings and keep up with the latest news on Twitter & Facebook.

Morgan Terror
Steward
Posts: 65
Joined: August 12th, 2012, 6:13 am

Re: Fullscreen with black bars?

Post by Morgan Terror » August 8th, 2013, 3:27 am

Heh. I'm actually the guy who said that not all graphics control centers had that option. It wouldn't matter for me anyway, because modifying the aspect ratio to that of eschalon only stretches the picture even further. It still tries to take up the entire screen. What i'm asking is wether it's possible to have eschalon adopt it's own, personal aspect ratio somehow. Most games can. It just shows up as a pair of black bars on the sides when running them.

User avatar
BasiliskWrangler
Site Admin
Posts: 3794
Joined: July 6th, 2006, 10:31 am
Location: The Grid
Contact:

Re: Fullscreen with black bars?

Post by BasiliskWrangler » August 8th, 2013, 4:46 am

I'll tell you what: we need to get Book III out the door. Let me focus on that. Afterwards, I will look into additional modifications to the game engine. What you are asking about is a "virtual resolution" and it can be done, but since the game is hardwired at 1024x768 I will need to modify many, many variables. Back in 2005 when the engine was first developed, I didn't need to worry about widescreen support because most people still used 4:3 monitors.
See my ramblings and keep up with the latest news on Twitter & Facebook.

Morgan Terror
Steward
Posts: 65
Joined: August 12th, 2012, 6:13 am

Re: Fullscreen with black bars?

Post by Morgan Terror » August 8th, 2013, 10:54 am

That sounds excellent. The support from you guys is really quite exceptional.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests